jump to navigation

Ice Storm Chronicles III February 12, 2009

Posted by L in Family, Friends, Life, Weather.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Part 3 of 3

Part 1 Here (opens in this window)

Part 2 Here (opens in this window)

.

Day 4:
Yesterday we went to Uncle’s house.  He still has power.  We charged our phones and charged my camera battery.  The camera battery did not get a full charge though.  His town is running out of water, so no shower there.

We went to Hubby’s friend’s house and showered. I washed my hair more than once and shaved.  It felt good!

Most of the ice melted off.  I won’t get a bunch of photos now.  I will, however, get photos of the branch on my house before it comes down – hopefully.

I spent too much money on food I don’t normally buy.  Chips are easy.  Canned food is expensive!  Neither require electricity.

I wonder what today will hold…

.

.

Day 5:
Hubby was offered, or rather re-re-offered the job that he left his last one for and left yesterday.  His friend took him to the main office out of state.  He was to stay in a hotel last night.  Bet he’s cleaner than me today!

We are ready for another shower, but have no place to go.

Oddly enough, I’m even wishing I could do laundry.

I think I am through the initial net-withdrawal.  Yes, I know I say that while blogging with pen and paper.  But, really, the hardest part is over.  And it only took 5 days.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I must text someone… anyone…

.

3:20 pm
We have power!!

4:10 pm
Starting a load of laundry.  If power stays on for that, next is shower.  If not, maybe the clothes will at least get washed before it goes back out.

4:40 pm
Modem is dead.  Why oh why am I taunted so?  It was protected…

Later:
Have I mentioned how nice a hot shower feels? Aahhh…

.

.

Most people have their electricity back on.  Some just within the last couple of days.
Although we did have electricity over that weekend, many people did not.  Most local schools did not open until Tuesday,  and then they began an hour late.
This week local businesses and schools have return to “normal”.
Branches and limbs still litter road sides and lawns. Broken trees are our current skyline.  Vehicles are in need of repair as are homes.
Some people are asking what the ice storm means.  Some have moved past it and have fallen back in to their rut.  A few saw God in the beauty of light reflecting off a frozen world.  And still some may have saw it as glimpse of things to come…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

