jump to navigation

Ice Storm Chronicles I February 9, 2009

Posted by L in Family, Friends, Life, Real Conversations, Weather.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

(This is a 3 post series.  Below is Part 1)

I know this is a little late.  Although I have had Internet back for about a week now, I have not really been blogging.

I didn’t know how long I would be without electricity once it went out. The electric company said 2 to 6 weeks before everyone had power back. Local authorities were saying 2 weeks until electricity was restored. I ended up being out for only about 5 days, and 7 without net. At the time of typing this, people I know are still without power.

Below is taken from my “blogging notebook” (ink pen and paper), written by flashlight, candlelight or sunlight.

Ice Storm Chronicles:

Day 1:
I woke up around 9. It was nice to sleep in. However, before I was even able to make breakfast “Pop Pop Pop” and off goes the electricity.

Breakfast was a peanut butter and honey sandwich.  This kept the fridge closed.

I took a few photos of ice covered trees, tires, steps and such.  Hubby cleared off our steps and kept me company.  My camera battery is low so my photos will be limited.

A friend of mine received a text whining about my lack of electronics, I mean, electricity.  After a few exchanges I noticed my cell battery was low.

It’s almost 8:00 pm.  We’ve been in bed for almost 2 hours.  Bed time is dark. By that, I mean when darkness fell, we all went to bed.

Hubby asked if I was blogging as I reached for my pen and paper.  I said “No.”  We both laughed and he rolled over.  By flashlight I write as I listen to him snore and trees cracking.  Earlier we laid here watching flashes of light, trying to figure out what they were.  Cars?  Transformers?

There was a loud crack.  Another big branch must have fallen.

.

Day 2 & 3 next post

.

Part 2 Here (opens in this window)

Part 3 Here (opens in this window)

.

Comments»

1. sweetiegirlz - February 9, 2009

I assumed you survived to write the 2nd and 3rd posts. I always hated the ice storms when we lived at Fort Leonardwood area for 12 years! One happened on Christmas! We ate ham sandwhiches in the freezing cold dark of the house. I’m sorry to hear u had to go thru it.

2. Austin - February 9, 2009

This sounds almost romantic.

It’s good know someone else likes peanut butter and honey. I prefer it to pb&j. My mother started me on that as a kid and I still eat it. Love the stuff.

austin

3. L - February 10, 2009

Sweetie
Awww! You gave away the ending! 😉
Thanks. Once I got through the net-withdrawals and stopped trying type on random surfaces, everything was fine. Really….
That and tossing out a fully stocked freezer and refrigerator of food…
Oh, and stinking. *nods*

Austin
Awww. You’re a just a romantic at heart, aren’t you?

Ok, this will offend all your sandwich senses, but I’ll tell you anyhow. As a child, I ate… are ready for this? … peanut butter and butter sandwiches. I’ll stick with the Honey now, tyvm.

4. Austin - February 10, 2009

My roommate adds butter to his peanut butter sandwiches. I’m use to the oddity of that combo. 🙂

5. Austin - February 13, 2009

You have a comment on your food blog.


Leave a Reply

