jump to navigation

What is the point? January 26, 2009

Posted by L in Friends, General.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Seriously? I mean, what is the point?

Yeah, I’m about to rant about something that I’m not even involved in!

Maybe I’m a bit off, but when I read blogs I begin to consider the people “someone I know”.  Once I start commenting and get a reply back, even more so.  I even call them friends.
Hubby calls them “invisible friends”.
Sometimes I’ll say “net-friend”.

I do realize that blog-friends are not the same as, say, Goober, who I have “known-known” for 15 years or so.  However, the initial get to know & build trust with a blog-friend is so much different than with 3D friends. You walk right into who they are inside (most of the time) when you “meet” through blogs.

One of these blog-mates recently had a commenter that just, well, when I read the comment I said “Ouch!”  I mean, it was hurtful and off base.  Maybe it is the tone that I “heard” as I read the comment.  If it was, though, I am not the only reader who heard that “tone”.

What is the point?  Why rip apart a blogger? It is your choice to read or not read.  If you disagree and are willing to do so in an manner that is not belittling, fine.  If you have constructive criticism and know how to deliver it, then ok, I guess.  If you want to rebuke a blogger, then do it as yourself without sarcasm.

Or is this just me?  Am I way off base?

If you don’t like what someone writes, blogs, tweets, plurks, comments, whatever… If you think they are wasting their time… What about you? Why spend your time hurting others online?  What is the point?

Okay, Rant Over.
I still don’t get it, but rant over.
In case you were wondering, I have said a prayer for the person who left the message that I would term “bitter”.

By the way, this question applies to spammers too.
What’s the point?

.

.

What do you do when you see a comment that is uncalled for on a friend’s blog?
Do you rip them apart?
Do you pray for them?
Perhaps you leave a reply comment defending the friend?

Have you ever left a comment that was taken differently than you meant it?

Comments»

1. tam - January 27, 2009

mmmm. why does this resonate with me so? 😉

it is crazy isnt it?

more than anything…it makes me sad. simply that. to those people, you cant reason with. they dont care. they just want to hurt others, or try.

so….we pray. there is nothing else to do.

but we dont respond in kind. that doesnt work. it fuels.

but what i saw tonight…was a community of bloggers, no…friends…gather together in support, in love.

how amazing. and i hope the “person” saw that too.

2. Austin - January 28, 2009

I’ve left comments before I wish I could take back. For just a second I forget someone with real live emotions is on the other side of the screen. I’ve let people have it before and felt horrible the within minutes. There are countless comments I wish I could take back. This is why when a stupid comment comes in I usually find my way to letting it go. I know I’ve done it. I’m angry at first for the cruelty but eventually I find a bit of understanding.

As far as hurting my blog buddies…. that’s a hard one cause I do want to jump in and tear them a new one but I have a hard time doing that on someone else’s blog. If stuff gets kinda crazy I’ll jump in and say something constructive such as what you said, – what’s the point, don’t you have anything else to do with your life?.

It’s hard to watch people we care about (3D or virtual) get hurt or blasted with words or deeds.

Austin


Leave a Reply

