jump to navigation

Busy Busy January 24, 2009

Posted by L in General, Life.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I signed up for a class that was being offered through a church I attend.  There were not a lot of details, but I was looking forward to it.  I was excited and knew I needed to be there before I even knew what the class was about.   I mean, I knew the name, that it is about 12 months and it’s some sort of discipleship. That is about all I knew.  I wanted more details.

I signed up for the class as dates and times were given.
Once a month, 12 months.  I can handle that; that doesn’t seem like much.

I took the first class via the net (I know! Cool, right?) and had a crash course in “HELLO!”  What I mean by that is this: The class is college/seminary level.  It is not quite a Bible study or Sunday school class. It’s seriously deep and I am still way excited!

BUT…

I was not really prepared for this type of commitment this week. Maybe I just slacked.  Ok, it was a bit of both.  My connection started breaking up half way through the class, so I waited for a replay to be set up on the class site. (Still not up from what I see)  My desk is, well, there is no place for books, notebooks and study.  I needed ink for my printer as the old cartridge did not even print out a dot.  I also had much to do this week.

Granted, much of the “much to do” could have been done weeks before hand, but they weren’t.  I didn’t know.  I didn’t understand that this class was a “real class”. You know, with studying, memorizing, thinking, reading, writing.  I don’t know what I thought, but 2 chapters and exams in the first week was just not what I was expecting.

So, here I am, with only a couple of days left of the “7 days to do it in”.  I finally have all I need and I crammed Chapter 1 in while Son was bowling.  I still don’t even have the first verse memorize.  I just took the “self – test” at the end of the chapter and missed about 1/2 of it.  And it’s not even the hard stuff yet.

I can tell you what the Bible says, but not where it’s found.  I also tend to paraphrase a bit.  I read from several different versions, so it’s not a paraphrase so much as a mix of translations. Okay, yeah, there are times I totally use my own paraphrase.  But still…

This is a challenge, but I know I can do it.  I’m not giving up, and I’m not stressing as much as it may sound. I’m just… verbally purging.  Maybe a wee bit anxious.  I guess if I blow it this week, it just means I have to work harder next week. Right?

Although, blowing it the first week might not look so good.
No matter how much I whine that I just didn’t realize…

Okay, enough babbling here.  I have to study and hit that exam.  I have not even touched chapter 2 yet.

Wow. It’s been a long time since I have said anything like that…

Comments»

1. tam - January 26, 2009

ok, so i doubt you’ll blow it. but…if you do…at least you’ll blow it DOING it!

youre doing this! that is awesome!

i am way impressed and proud of you!

L - January 26, 2009

Thank you so much, Tam, for your encouragement. Your comment means a lot to me.

Thank you


Leave a Reply

