jump to navigation

Fears December 13, 2008

Posted by L in Life, Personal, Random.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

You read the title right. Fears.

We all have them in some form or another.  It may be some deep rooted fear.  It might also be a passing thing brought on by some horror movie.  Perhaps it is something common like a fear of heights or clowns.  Then again, it maybe it’s something that hinders how you conduct yourself.

My fear… It alters how I conduct myself.

See, I have this MP3 player.  It has songs on it.  With lyrics.  I love singing. However, my singing ability is less than zero and could probably be considered a lethal weapon.  Still I belt them out, loudly – preferably when I’m alone.  (Why, yes, you may feel sorry for my neighbors.)

What does that have to do with fear?
Well, let me tell you… I fear that when I am out in public, say walking, that when I think I am lip syncing I am actually whisper singing. Or when I think I am too quiet for anyone to hear, I am actually singing well into hearing range.  Or maybe I am distracting others, thus putting them in jeopardy, because they have never seen a woman of my age walking along moving her lips.  If I am at a gym, I could even cause someone to trip and stumble on the treadmill!  Then not only have I damaged their hearing with my singing, I’ve caused them embarrassment.

Yup, that’s my fear. I fear I will forget myself and belt one out at the gym… okay, more than one, but you get my point.

What is your fear?

.

.

.

You’re laughing at me now, aren’t you?

Comments»

1. darkeve - December 13, 2008

I think I basically have the same fear of embarassing myself. I believe everone feels this way too. It’s a common sort of fear that comes with being human I suppose.

L - December 15, 2008

You might be right. Many people probably share that fear. At the same time though, not everyone finds the same thing embarrassing. One of my dearest friends is a singer and would probably have no problem belting one out while working up a sweat. Hhmmm… Maybe that should be my next post. “What embarrasses you?”

Thanks for stopping by, darkeve… and for inspiring a post. 😉

2. Embarrassment « Way TMI - December 15, 2008

[…] A special thanks to darkeve who unintentionally inspired this post when commenting on yesterday’s Fears post. […]

3. bluesuit12 - December 15, 2008

I can’t sing in front of people. Well, goofying around isn’t that big of a deal or singing in my car but to sing at a legitimate function, forget it. I don’t know if it’s really a fear or if I just feel awkward and stupid doing it. To be honest I think my biggest fear is to be rejected. That and spiders.

4. L - December 17, 2008

bluesuit12:
Okay, I have a confession. When I posted this entry, I thought “If Nan reads this one, I bet she’ll say something about spiders.” lol
If you have a good voice, I think you should face your fear and sing. Sing loud. Sing proud. Sing because you can.
Rejection though, ouch! That is a hard one.


Leave a Reply

