jump to navigation

Bread is Good December 10, 2008

Posted by L in Family, General, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Hubby has been working for a couple of weeks now, but there is still no paycheck. This means not only are we still completely broke, but food is a bit scarce at the moment too.

A blog I read occasionally posts delicious looking recipes.  One of them is bread recipe I have been wanting to make with my daughter.  I have not done this yet because I don’t have bread/loaf pans.
(By the way, I think pampered chef has some stoneware bread pans in case you were wanting to buy some for me. Just sayin’)

A few years back MIL gave a bread machine to me for Christmas. It makes small loaves and always made the crust too dark.  I put the machine on the shelf and let it sit.  For years.

This week I drug out the bread machine, opened a cook book and Daughter and I picked out a recipe to try.  We altered the ingredients some – using what we had rather than trying to come up with money to buy special stuff. We used All Purpose Flour instead of Bread Flour, Splenda instead of Granulated Sugar, and plain old Rapid-Rise yeast.

So, out of necessity, I made bread in the too-small-wrong-shape-bread-making machine.  And it actually turned out better than it did when I first got the machine.  The bread has a nice golden brown crust.  Even though it’s white bread, there is flavor in every bite.  (Who knew time-outs worked on appliances?!?)

Looking through the recipe book, I’m tempted to skip the cookies and make breads for family for Christmas.  That is, if I can stop eating it.

Mmm Bread

Comments»

1. sweetiegirlz - December 10, 2008

It looks great gurlie. Aren’t you glad you tried again with the machine?

L - December 11, 2008

Thank you! Yes, I am glad. *nods*
I plan to make another loaf soon. Maybe even today.

2. bluesuit12 - December 12, 2008

YUM! I love bread and could probably eat more of that than any cookies.

L - December 13, 2008

I made another loaf using a different recipe. It turned out good too. Better than the first, so the children say.
Nan, here is what I’m offering. I’ll make bread, you make cookies. Then we’ll trade. I think it’s a good plan. Oh, and to sweeten the deal, I don’t even care if you decorate the cookies or not!


Leave a Reply

