jump to navigation

T-Day: The True Story November 27, 2008

Posted by L in Family, General, Holiday, Life.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I read blogs. (duh) I read about families getting together.  I read about hiking trips with friends, loners going to friend’s house, and a few who just aren’t do a dang thang!
I’ve already posted about what was planned. So, now, I thought I’d post what actually happens/ed.

The Day Before:
MIL wakes me on the first “sleep-in day” we have had in a long time.  She calls at 8:15 a.m. to ask about something she was suppose to call about on Monday or Tuesday.  She told me they may go to SIL’s house after all.

Went to Son’s doctor’s appointment.  They referred him back to the office where he use to go for asthma and allergies.  5 hours away this office is… and they want him to go next month.  Do they not know I don’t have gas money, need new tires and I don’t like to drive long distances in the WINTER?!?

NO cleaning done.

Today, T-Day:
Slept in until around 8:30 or 8:45 a.m. *sigh* At least I wasn’t awoken by an alarm or phone. Besides, there is lots to be done.

Turn on “radio”  That means I am glad I have pretty good speakers for my computer because we have loud net-radio music blaring here.

Do dishes from yesterday.  Yes, you may call me both a slacker and disgusting for leaving them out over night.  It’s not the first time, you know. The children re-dirtied dishes with breakfast.

I started cooking, with breaks to text and read a blog or two.  Found out I might see Hubby for a few hours tonight or tomorrow morning.
By “started cooking” I mean I got the spices out and ready, pre-heated the oven, then felt like a turkey-oby/gyn as I lost my arm up the 20-pounder and pulled out a part that was probably then neck and a bag of stuff.

Got Turkey in oven.  Started this day-long-blog-post… and realized I haven’t eaten yet today and it’s already 10:16!

**** **** **** ****

Finished breakfast dishes.  Washed extra storage containers.  Gabbed on the phone a bit.  Now I’m off start the next phase.  Taters!

**** **** **** ****

11:25 a.m.  ACK!  I completely forgot I was making rolls too.  I need a second oven.  Every year I wish for a second oven.

Hmm, I think maybe we’ll have biscuits instead?  Where was that recipe?

**** **** **** ****

Decided to skip the biscuits.  Potatoes are peeled and sitting in water, waiting.

**** **** **** ****

Got the sweet taters in the oven. Hope they turn out as good as my taste buds are expecting.  White taters on the stove.  Almost there.

Finally putting the last of the summer stuff away.
Soon we’ll pull out the Christmas stuff.

**** **** **** *****

Getting excited! The “red done button” on the turkey is starting to pop!
The sweet taters need a bit longer.
The white taters are boiling, and soon will need mashing.
I wonder if it would be cheating to use an electric mixer to make the “smashed-taters”?

**** **** **** ****

Stuffed.

Now, for the clean up.  Maybe the pie will be done by the time everything is put away and washed.

**** **** **** ****

Wishing I could just kick back and doze off.

**** **** **** ****

Dishes now rinsed and stacked.  My back is killing me.  Still have to make whipped cream.

**** **** **** ****

Done.  I’m off to take a very hot bath.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll get the rearranging done and Christmas stuff setup.

**** **** **** ****

I hope your Thanksgiving was full of great memories and tastey food, no matter how you chose to spend it.

Comments»

1. novice101 - November 27, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving to you!

It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. But I am always in the mood for gratefulness. Hope you don’t mind me joining in. Your president, Abraham Lincoln is so wise!

The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

Gratefulness gives us contentment and peace of mind. These two qualities help reduce our stress level which helps greatly in keeping us healthy.

To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

2. L - December 2, 2008

Welcome, Novice, to my blog.
I tried to check out your post, but the link you gave has an error in it. That particular post is not found, but it does take one to your blog.

I hope you enjoyed your day of celebrating gratefulness.

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

3. novice101 - December 2, 2008

Thanks for your welcome. Sorry for having a mistake in the link given. Should be right this time:

http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-gratefulness/


Leave a Reply

