jump to navigation

Serious Reminder November 15, 2008

Posted by L in Bloggers, Computer, Family, Friends, General, Life.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I love getting comments. I really do.  It’s almost as exciting as watching the little stat counter roller coaster.

(Okay, stop talking about how sad that is, would ya?  This is actually going somewhere.)

Recently someone left a comment on one of my spider posts.  So, I wandered over to check out their blog.  (I do that when there is a link. Do you?) The first post I read was a great reminder.  As a matter of a fact, I am posting it here so you can check it out.

The internet, the new babysitter?

I read a lot of good post on good topics by good bloggers.  Rarely though do I link to a post just for the post itself.  I might link because I’m responding to it, inspired by it, stealing it (like MeMes not like plagiarism) or something of the sort.  However, this I am linking because you need to read it.  As a parent, you need to read it.  As a teen who thinks it’s okay to just friend anyone, maybe you should read it too and understand “what the big deal is” (The big deal is people like “Bob”).

Thank you, Narcissus, for being on the ball and shoving our parental wrongs in our face for the sake of our children.

Now if you’ll all excuse me, I need to go look at my children’s computer history.

Comments»

1. Narcissus - November 15, 2008

Thanks for the linkback!

Glad to see you enjoy the blog, I hate to be so blunt with things sometimes, but I work online for a site filled with teens and I see dangerous unsafe behavior every day, it’s so upsetting to think that parents aren’t doing everything they can to protect their children.

Again, thanks
-L

2. bluesuit12 - November 17, 2008

Thanks for posting the link to this! I don’t have kids and after reading this I was glad I don’t. There’s a radio station I listen to in the mornings and every now and then they do their version on To Catch a Predator. They create a tween profile online and let some perv come to them. When they get the number and call him up and bust him and then turn the info over to the authorities. They do it to show how easy and fast your child could get mixed in with the wrong people. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever heard a show where they didn’t have a number within 15 min. Scary!! What ever happened to kids going outside to play?


Leave a Reply

