jump to navigation

Confessions August 20, 2008

Posted by L in General, Life, Random, Wisdom.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

It’s true. I’m going to admit it right here, right now.

I am an escapist.

I have been for a quite some time.
I long for escape. It is what I do.

Oh sure, I can “go with the flow” and be content. Deep down though, more often than not, there is an escape happening. Even when I am in the moment, it is a form of escape.

Reading a book, to me, is an escape. I read as the images play in my mind like a high definition movie. The world around me fades away as I am immersed in the set of my imagination narrated by the pages before me.

Entering a virtual world, I, once again, escape by blocking out all around. Even though I stare at the monitor before me, I block out the chaos on my desk. I release tension there, I dance there, I fly, I laugh, I shop, I create, I have fun, I blow off steam, I immerse. Escaping fully into another world with others.

Chatting with a friend is even a form of escape. As I sit and listen to them talk, I am entering their world, their life and leaving mine behind. As they speak, I picture what they say, I empathize, I laugh with them, I smile, and nod in understanding. Understanding because I have left my life and entered theirs.

Reading blogs is like chatting with friends in that I, yet again, enter someone else’s world. I see their joy, their pain, their unshielded self. It does not matter if their story is painted with words, with pictures, or a combination of both, for those few moments, I have entered their existence, even if only through the one way looking glass they have provided.

Even if I am pulling someone into my world, my life, I am escaping. I have left my reality to communicate with the visitor. As I share my life through voice, photograph, text, movie, paint, song compilation, I am into the setting. I am into the communication. I am leaving my world to make a window for you to see in.

Yes, it is true. I am an escapist.

Now you know who I am.
Allow me to glimpse into your world. Escape with me and share who you are, what you are.
Tell me, are you an escapist too?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment