jump to navigation

Blog Readers pt.1 July 12, 2008

Posted by L in Bloggers, Computer.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I confess.
I use a blog reader.
I often see posts without being seen on stat counters.
Sometimes I see posts that are deleted but caught in my reader before delete was hit.

I am not trying to be sneaky. Nope, I’m not.
I am just lazy.

See, back in the day I use to hit blogs 3 or 4 times a day looking to see if a new post was up. Yeah, I was home a lot and looking to escape. Plus I am very nosy caring. The people behind some of the blogs and I actually became friends. We’d chat on various instant messengers, email, or visit on other sites.

Some of those friendships have faded away. Some are kind of on again and off again. A couple of people I still email, visit their blogs, and/or talk to in other ways. I still think about the ones that I became close to but don’t get to talk to anymore.

I think, for me, it seems like people are friends because there is less of the “get to know you” stage when your first introduction is seeing into their private lives.

See, there are many types of bloggers. Some stick to topics (tech blogs, car blogs, recipe blogs, etc), some mix topics with life (farm blogs, frugal with life, applying Scripture in every day life, telling about your day and then the recipe you used for dinner, etc), some are therapeutic (rants and raves only, processing childhood memories, talking about therapy, dreams, journaling living life with _______ disorder, etc), some are like magazines with many authors (living life as a large woman, how to be frugal, tech, etc.) and some are just plain ol’ personal (mixing a bit of it all, raw and candid). I visit a bit of them all. The blogs that are most candid, it seems more like they are friends. Some people may be uncomfortable reading about a person’s life. To me though, it is like going out to lunch and lending an ear to a friend.

I think I got off track.
Where was I?
Oh yeah…

Blog readers…
Okay, so I use to hit certain blogs several times a day because they often posted at least once a day (sometimes more). Eventually, I decided to give “subscribing” a try. However, not one to be consistent with email, I went to a feed thingy.

I soon learned that the feed thingy would be one of my most favorite tools.

I no longer had to check all those individual links. I only had to open one little site and BAM! there were all the posts I needed to get caught up on. Not only that, I could add this little thing to my browser to make adding blogs to my feeder-reader easier!
Sometimes it is not the most current – meaning it does not always instantly grab a new post. But it will be there eventually.
Not everyone has their blog set up for feeds. Some sites you just have to check yourself.
Sometimes you read a post, go there to comment, and learn the post has been deleted.
But over all, it is a link-click-saver. One click and all your “friends” are there.

Which one do I use? Where is it? How do you set it up? What is the little browser adder thingy?

Well…. You’ll just have to wait for part 2 to find out.

Comments»

1. To Do List « Way TMI - August 7, 2008

[…] Random, TV trackback As some of you may know, I use a blog-reader. (I’ll get part two of that post up some day, I just know it!) I have been using this blog reader for well over a year. Maybe even 2 […]


Leave a Reply

