jump to navigation

Video Card June 23, 2008

Posted by L in Computer.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I am not a computer expert. I am far from it actually.

However, to my computer-challenged relatives, I am a computer guru.
(Scary, huh?)
I know a bit more than some friends of mine.
(Though one has probably passed me on some software.)

I have a couple of post ideas to help my friends and whoever else stumbles across these pages.
(Warning: The answers/explanations may seem over simplified to those who know more about computers.)

This is the first of the two ideas I have.
More ideas and post may come as the “huh?” questions arrive.

I chose to do this one first because my new video card has been a topic on a couple of my recent posts.
Okay, okay. And because I wanna show off the difference between old and new. But shhhh! Don’t tell.

*clears throat* EH-HMM

Video Card.

What is it?
A video card is the part inside the computer that your monitor gets it pictures from.

Is it ever called anything else?
Yes. Some also call it a graphics card.

Can you really tell a difference?
I think that depends on your application.

If your main thing on the computer is text based (letters, email, googling movie reviews, and so on), then you probably won’t notice a whole lot of difference between video cards.

If you dabble in games – or are an extreme gamer – then you will be able to tell a difference.

Huh?
Here. Let me show you what I mean….

I mentioned that I have spent some time in a virtual world. A lovely little 3D world within the webaverse (my word).
In that world, I have been able to take pictures. These pictures will demonstrate the difference in my old card and new.

I use to see this:




This is what I see now





Do you see a difference?

There are more differences than the clarity of water and the colors in a sunset. These pictures are just an example that hopefully show you a bit of the difference a new video card can make.

(By the way, you can click on any of the pictures for a larger view.)

So, what you are saying is it’s the thingy inside that lets me see stuff?
Yes.

😀

**********************

I hope this helped.

Comments»

1. sweetiegirlz - June 23, 2008

Aaahhh I finally get it. Thanks.

2. L - June 23, 2008

You are most welcome.

Unless that “thanks” was sarcastic……
lol

3. sweetiegirlz - June 23, 2008

no, of course no sarcasm! 🙂
Seriously I didnt even know what this magical video card was, but now I know why you were so excited about it.
I wish I was tech savvy. 😦

4. mistyisforeverlost - June 25, 2008

*wanders in and squeels with delight* a NEW WORD TO STEAL!!

And hey! I knew what a card was *nods* it’s the video part that stumped me…every time I tried to find the card to watch a video, I kept getting an error message! *twirls her blonde hair and wanders back off repeating* webaverse *over and over again so not to forget it*

5. L - June 25, 2008

Hey! I said that was MY word!!

*shakes head as she walks off not even trying to explain again until Misty changes her hair *


Leave a Reply

